Qdoba Mexican Grill in Duarte, CA

I drive by Qdoba everyday on the way to and from work, and I wanted to try it sometime.  It had a cute name, and sounded like it would taste good.  When one of my friends asked where I wanted to meet up for dinner, I suggested Qdoba.  The Qdoba in Duarte is located off the 210 freeway at the Mountain Ave exit.  Qdoba is like Chipotle but the seating area is a little nicer, and they offer signature sauces like their queso sauce with a three-cheese blend, roasted poblanos, tomatoes and jalapenos, ranchera sauce (like a salsa), ancho chile bbq sauce that’s a slighty sweet, molé inspired BBQ sauce with chiles, hickory and smoky mesquite, and poblano pesto sauce with roasted poblano peppers, jalapenos, cilantro, almonds and pine nuts.  They also have shredded beef and seasoned ground beef options.

An order of 3 tacos comes with your choice of soft flour or crispy corn taco shells.  I wanted to try as much as possible, so I paid $6.99 (the price for 3 steak tacos) for a chicken taco, a steak taco, and a pulled pork taco.

These were the combinations I tried:

Chicken taco with ranchera sauce and lettuce

Steak taco with pico de gallo and lettuce

Pulled pork taco with ancho chile bbq sauce, roasted corn salsa, and lettuce

The tacos didn’t come with the rice, so I ordered a side of it to try it.

Chipotle’s rice is better, but I do like Qdoba’s sauce options.  The tacos are smaller since they aren’t stuffed with meat and rice, but that can be either a good or bad thing. The staff here is friendly, and I would like to come here again to try the burritos.

Leave a Reply

