Gourmet Island in Alhambra, CA

My uncle was in town during Chinese New Year weekend, so my parents and I took him and my grandma out for lunch at Gourmet Island!  It’s located on Valley Blvd and Third Street right next to Baccali Rotisserie and Café.  I have often driven by this restaurant, but I never went inside to try the food.  The interior is more casual than I expected, and it feels like a busy Hong Kong cafe.  There is a large selection of dishes for the lunch specials ($4.99-$9.99), and you can add a drink for 99¢!  You can choose from drinks like honey lemon tea, chrysanthemum tea, milk tea, coffee, and more!

During our lunch, the Chinese New Year parade came inside the restaurant!

Stir-fried Scallops with Celery and Wood Ear for $6.99- This dish is colorful and tasty!  Wood ears, literally translated from Chinese, are a fungus can be cooked with most meats and vegetables.


Pork Brisket with Oyster Hot Pot for $6.99- I don’t really like oysters and pork brisket, but this dish tastes pretty good.

Pan-fried Chicken with Mushrooms over Rice Noodles for $6.99- Noodle dishes are one of my favorite things to eat, and rice noodles are my favorite noodle, so I was happy to see that this was on the menu.

House Special Sea Bass for $6.99- This fish is very tender, light, and delicious!

Stir-fried Chinese Broccoli in Oyster Sauce for $7.99- This is a typical vegetable dish at Hong Kong restaurants.  A little oyster sauce is all that you need to flavor the broccoli.

With a total purchase of $25, the house special beef fried rice is free!  It’s cooked in a stone pot, so the rice on the bottom gets crispy.

Leave a Reply

